Page 1 of 1

Arcane Dimension

Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 11:51 pm
by func_qbism
EDIT 2: Looks like a fix. See below. Pending verification

Despite crashing (due to unsupported qc or asset feature?) got a couple screens of 'Start' and 'ad_crucial'. No time to look further into it for now.
qbs8_001.jpg
qbs8_001.jpg (449.3 KiB) Viewed 15218 times
qbs8_005.jpg
qbs8_005.jpg (499 KiB) Viewed 15218 times
qbs8_006.jpg
qbs8_006.jpg (347.35 KiB) Viewed 15218 times
qbs8_007.jpg
qbs8_007.jpg (389.96 KiB) Viewed 15218 times
Here's the manifestation of the bug: overflow into video memory when looking in a specific direction... weird. No crash when the mod's progs.dat is removed, and maps load fine. So guessing progs.dat or a limit-breaking custom asset is the issue. But WHY is it dependent on view direction?
qbs8_003.jpg
qbs8_003.jpg (517.48 KiB) Viewed 15218 times

Re: Arcane Dimension

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 8:43 pm
by func_qbism
Thanks to ericw and Mankrip post on insideqc.com, I looked at the mdls. I don't know the issue, but when I batch re-saved the mdls out of Noesis the bug went away! Unzip the attached zip into the Arcane Dimensions progs folder (make sure you have a backup first- nobody else has confirmed the fix yet)
Link pulled pending verification.

Re: Arcane Dimension

Posted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:09 pm
by func_qbism
EDIT: link fixed above. EDIT 2: link pulled pending... but all it takes is to open and resave mdls in Quark. Only seems to be an issue with software engines, and the underlying issue is unknown at this point. Just realized these mdls do not include multiple skins of the originals (like misc_digit.mdl). Looking into it... Loading and saving in Quark worked.

Re: Arcane Dimension

Posted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 7:02 pm
by func_qbism
Screenshots of ad_crucial by Maik Franz Xaver, with a custom palette
ad_pal.zip
(922 Bytes) Downloaded 686 times
qbs8_016.jpg
qbs8_016.jpg (349.93 KiB) Viewed 15113 times
qbs8_012.jpg
qbs8_012.jpg (338.44 KiB) Viewed 15113 times
qbs8_020.jpg
qbs8_020.jpg (165.9 KiB) Viewed 15113 times
qbs8_021.jpg
qbs8_021.jpg (209.75 KiB) Viewed 15113 times

Re: Arcane Dimension

Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 8:32 pm
by func_qbism
This is just a duplicate view of ericw's DM4 screenshot on insideqc thread, without tearing:
qbs8_026.jpg
qbs8_026.jpg (212.98 KiB) Viewed 15091 times
This view of AD start.bsp with same rocket ammo, centered in far distance:
qbs8_029.jpg
qbs8_029.jpg (373.12 KiB) Viewed 15091 times
Map AD_test11 showing functional multiple skins:
qbs8_027.jpg
qbs8_027.jpg (348.78 KiB) Viewed 15091 times

Re: Arcane Dimension

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 1:06 pm
by func_qbism
The new test build in other thread should look even better. Still an engine limitation of transparency layers, especially noticable on swampy.

Sorry for the slipshod attempt at model fixes to anyone who tried it. This was a plunge into the complexities of mdl export. The engine can gracefully handle some issues now. Also try the official mod patches.

Re: Arcane Dimension

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2021 11:33 pm
by o n o d a
To confirm, Super8 is compatible with enemy randomizer aka "chaos difficulty" included in Arcane Dimensions 1.80p1.

Those who've already run id maps to death, can enjoy the whole campaign again with surprise enemy spawns, including Quoth monsters, the big ones.

Also works with DOPA. Add command line parameter -game ad -game2 dopa. From AD hud head down the obvious hole in front of you, and activate the chaos difficulty pillar. Bring up the console and type map e5m1.