Thanks for this port!

qbism Super8 is a gritty software-rendering 3D engine based on Makaqu and other GPL Quake source code.

No votes

Total votes: 0

VGA

Thanks for this port!

Post by VGA » Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:44 pm

Thanks for the work you put into this port, I like this kind of aesthetics, meta-nostalgic as you put it. I have a couple of annoyances to report, please note that I am a noob in Quake but very experienced in using source ports, especially for Doom.

1) The console font is way too small, how can I increase it? I am playing on 1680x1050 resolution

2) I can't see any decals, with the basic hitscan weapons at least. Shouldn't there be bullet marks on the wall, like in ZDoom?

3) Sometimes I see this error in the console "Unkown command -mlook". It may have to do with alt-tabbing.

4) Is it normal that I can look around while the console is down? It's just weird because the gameplay is paused.

VGA

Re: Thanks for this port!

Post by VGA » Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:50 pm

Double post because this is very important. For setting up S8 I extracted it in a new folder then copied the two pak files from my Quake GOG installation to the id1 folder. Also I run a tool that extracted the songs from the GOG CD image files and put them inside a folder named MUSIC inside id1. And I ran vispatch to get the transparent liquids, although I don't like how they look, it's like very transparent liquid with a semi-opaque surface on it, instead of looking like a thick liquid.

Music seems to be working but after about a minute of gameplay an annoying chirping sound starts. If I reduce the music it also is affected, so I think the music playback is getting corrupted? Happens on e1m1 and e2m1.
Last edited by VGA on Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

func_qbism

Re: Thanks for this port!

Post by func_qbism » Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:36 pm

1. Yeah... console text doesn't scale.
2. 'r_stains 1' in console will turn on stainmaps.